top of page

Sedona | The Desert Wonder


Dear Wander & explorers,

This is an updated journal installment of my experiences and journies taken in that state I live in Arizona and state explorations. This is blog update on Sedona, Arizona


 

Over the last 3 years starting my journey as a hiker. Which was started in one of my favorite spots in Arizona….SEDONA. You guessed it! This destination for many has given me so much growth, moments that have significantly changed my life for the better. For others, it’s a place to explore for the first time and experience the ambiance with the spiritual nature. When I was just an east coaster arriving in Arizona I didn’t get a chance to enrich myself with all the wonders that this destination creates. But each time I travel to the area, I’m either going for these top three reasons: To hike, to capture for a client, or just to get out of my usual area to disconnect and hang out with close friends and my significant other.


For others, it’s a place to explore for the first time and experience the ambiance with the spiritual nature to go. When I was just an east coaster arriving in Arizona, I didn’t get a chance to enrich myself in all the wonders this destination creates. But each time I travel to the area, I’m either going for these top three reasons: To hike, to capture for a client, or just to get out of my usual area to disconnect and hang out with close friends and my significant other.

If you’re deciding to travel to Arizona either from out of state or locally. Here are some new updates to keep in mind when deciding where to hike and explore. In the city of Sedona in late 2021 made a new initiative to create a trail shuttle system that is free to people going to these trails. Making it easier and more accessible. It will drive you to all the well-known trails like Cathedral Rock, Bellrock, Chapel of the holy cross (A church built within the red rocks), and so on.

With that in mind, the traffic aspect of going to Sedona has improved but over the last 4 years, there has been more of an increase in people hiking. This is great with that in mind when venturing out to these amazing trails and areas. Make sure to leave no trace. What does that mean? pack what you need, if you have trash keep it with you or find ways to have reusable items on hand, know your limits and respect the land. The only way the city and park rangers are able to keep in great shape is with efforts from us everyday people. Making little habits that can help the bigger picture.


Photo was taken by GreenGiraffePhoto



Now onto the fun aspect of this update. I’ve become more comfortable with Sedona as I am drawn to it more with me using the outdoors as my outlet for relaxation and keeping myself grounded. If you decide to come to Sedona, Arizona makes sure you check out these spots.



 

(First time hiking Bell-Rock with Taylor in 2020)


Now onto the fun aspect of this update. I’ve become more comfortable with Sedona as I am drawn to it more with me using the outdoors as my outlet for relaxation and keeping myself grounded. If you decide to come to Sedona, Arizona makes sure you check out these spots.

1) Edge of the world space in between Flagstaff and Sedona

( A total gem that feels similar to the Grand Canyon on the scale)

2) Bell-Rock Trail-head

(Ps-This is a great example of why it's important to invest or buy trail running or hiking shoes)

I didn't realize this the first time when I hiked Bell-Rock


(My OG trailhead and hike)-captured above

Difficulty range easy-moderate) This not only is a favorite amongst the tourist but aye even us Arizona folks who live here. It’s a popular Photo and hiking spot. This place can become very busy during the golden-blue hour. During the day it isn’t as busy but Sedona is all together always booming. With travelers coming and going.

3) Birthing Cave:

this is about a 2-mile hike with a little bit of incline once leading up to the cave. It’s iconic for its views of the Sedona mountain range facing the city. It faces Northwest is an easy-moderate trail.


4)Cathedral Rock:

This one is still on my bucket list of trails to hike and to hopefully capture a couple's elopement here Thats my next little photo milestone. This has a much more intense incline gain so it's a lot i recommend for anyone new or even seasoned hikers. Use trekking poles to make going ascending and descending down easier on your quads, calves, and ankles. For most .50 up a mountain may not sound SO INTENSE. But when you're doing it.



 



ARRIVING & DEPARTING SEDONA

(my helpful tips & reminders)

  • Do not get disappointed if you are not able to go to the trailhead you’ve been dreaming about. Make a backup trail you’d love to explore say if you can’t hike it

  • Please bring & wear the essentials: correct shoes, breathable clothing, bring water(reusable water bottle or Water bladder), backpack or fanny pack, sunscreen

  • Disconnect from your devices. I’m such a techie and a systems person with my devices. When Im out in an area that I’m not often in. Disconnect or change your focus mode. You can be more present

  • Be a conscious and courteous hiker (Make space on a trail if it's narrow, DO NOT LEAVE TRASH-I can’t emphasize this enough). Keep it, store it in your bag, find a trash can or recycle it, and pack only what you need. Do your research on the trail. Be responsible and remember still have a good time :)





  • HYDRATION: Pre-hydrate the night before, before getting to the trail, and DURING. No matter what season you decide to explore this great hiking city. Make sure you are well hydrated no matter what! We don’t want you getting light-headed, dizzy, or anything along those lines. This is one of the highest reasons why people have gotten hurt in Arizona when hiking because they didn’t prepare enough. Always drink more than you used to if you hiking in the warmer to hotter months. Even if its fall or winter there. DRINK WATER CONSISTENTLY.








With that being said, I hope this inspires you to travel to Sedona, Arizona each time I come to this city. I always learn new tips as a photographer and hiker. With that in mind If you ever want to book an Adventure session with me.











You’ll have a full experience of this amazing area. Head to my booking page on my website! I’d love to show you around and capture your next milestone or new wholesome memory!




-Mel

bottom of page